The Lying Game

Ruth Ware ( had a variety of jobs before happily finding her vocation as a fiction writer. Her psychological thrillers In a Dark, Dark Wood (2015) and The Woman in Cabin 10 (2016) are now followed by this year’s The Lying Game (2017). The summary is as follows. On a cool June morning, Isa Wilde, a resident of the seemingly idyllic coastal village of Salten, is walking her dog along a tidal estuary. Before she can stop him, Isa’s dog charges into the water to retrieve what first appears to be a wayward stick. To her horror, Isa discovers a human bone. As her three best friends from childhood converge in Salten to comfort Isa, terrifying discoveries are made, and their collective history slowly unravels.


Reader warning. This book may point out the slipperiness of memory, the relativity of truth, and the danger of obsessive friendships. It may be upsetting. It’s all there for you to discover if the old ticker can take the pressure.


Enquire at your local library. Check if this new mystery thriller is in stock by consulting the online catalogue at


384 pages in Harvill Secker

First published 2017

ISBN  978-1911215011


Ruth Ware

Scroll to Top