Fool Me Once

New Jersey based Harlan Coben (, has a dedicated following for his taut, fast-paced mystery and thriller novels. He won the 1996  Anthony Award in the “Best Paperback original” category for his début novel Deal Breaker, which also received an Edgar award nomination in the same category. His addictive fiction has been flowing ever since. Why not try his latest novel, of 2016, ‘Fool Me Once’?

The summary is as follows. Former special ops pilot Maya Burkett, home from the war, sees an impossible image captured by her nanny cam while she is at work: her two-year-old daughter playing with her dead husband Joe, who had been brutally murdered two weeks earlier in New York’s Central Park.

Life is complicated enough already. Maya is juggling a heavy load of baggage. Whistle-blower Corey Rudzinski ended her military career when he posted footage of her ordering a defensive airstrike that killed five civilians, and she’s just waiting for him to release the audio feed that would damage her reputation even more. So after the NYPD homicide detective heading the investigation of Joe’s murder drops a bombshell—the same gun was used to shoot both Joe and her previously murdered sister Claire—Maya launches her own investigation. Little does she know it will link both murders to the death more than 10 years ago of Joe’s brother Andrew and the secrets the wealthy and powerful Burkett family has been hiding ever since.

The provocative question at the heart of the mystery: Can you believe everything you see with your own eyes, even when you desperately want to? To find the answer, Maya must finally come to terms with deep secrets and deceit in her own past before she can face the unbelievable truth about her husband and herself.

For this gripping mystery thriller enquire at your local library or consult  for full bibliographic detail.


400 pages in Century

First published 2016

ISBN 978-1780894195


Harlan Coben

Scroll to Top