The Wrong Girl

Laura Wilson ( grew up in London and studied English Literature at University College London. She has written history about many different periods for children before turning to historical crime fiction, where she concentrates on the recent past. Her fifth novel, The Lover, set during the London Blitz, won the French Prix du Polar Europeen in 2004 and the first novel in her Inspector Stratton series won the Ellis Peters Award for Best Historical Crime Novel of 2008. She lives in Islington and is the Guardian’s crime fiction reviewer. Her latest novel may hold your attention in the down time between strawberries, cream and tennis matches. The summary is as follows. In 2007, three-year-old Phoebe Piper went missing on a family holiday. Despite massive publicity and a long investigation, no trace of her was ever found. Seven years later, Molly Armitage, aged ten and recently uprooted to a Norfolk village, finds her great uncle Dan dead in his bed. Molly remembers nothing of her early years, but she’s been sure for ages that she is Phoebe. Everything in her life points to it and now, finally, she has proof.

Dan’s death brings his long-lost sister Janice back to Norfolk where she’s re-united with Molly’s mother Suzie, the daughter she gave up for adoption decades earlier. Janice discovers that a former lover, Joe Vincent, lives nearby. Joe was a rock star who, at the height of his fame, turned his back on celebrity and became a recluse. As she is drawn back into the past, Janice begins to wonder if Dan’s death and Joe’s reputation as a damaged acid casualty are quite what they appear…  And then Molly disappears.

Enquire at your local library or consult for full bibliographic details.


384 pages in Quercus paperback edition

First published 4th June 2015

ISBN 978-1782063100


Image result for laura wilson

Laura Wilson




Scroll to Top