The Story of Art by Ernst Gombrich

The Story of Art, by Ernst Gombrich (, is a survey of the history of art from ancient times to the modern era. First published in 1950, the book is widely regarded both as a seminal work of criticism, and as one of the most accessible introductions to the visual arts. It was originally intended for younger readers. Over seven million copies have been sold, making it the best selling art book of all time. It is currently in its 16th edition and has been translated into approximately 30 languages. In the 16th edition eight new artists from the modern period have been introduced. They are: Corot, Kollwitz, Nolde, de Chirico, Brancussi, Magritte, Nicolson and Morandi. A sequence of new ‘endings’ have also been added, and the captions are  fuller, including the medium and dimension of the works illustrated. Six fold-outs present selected large-scale works. They are: Van Eyck’s Ghent Altarpiece, Leonardo’s Last Supper, Botticelli’s Birth of Venus, Jackson Pollock’s One (Number 31, 1950), Van der Weyden’s Descent from the Cross and Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel ceiling. This will enrich your experience of visiting galleries and is deserving of a place in anybody’s bookcase.

688 pages in Phaidon Press paperback edition

ISBN 978-0714832470

E.H. Gombrich

Scroll to Top