Black and Blue

Ian Rankin ( is on top form with the 8th in the Inspector Rebus series. This detective novel is full of wit, style and intricacy. Bible John killed three women, and took three souvenirs. Johnny Bible killed to steal his namesake’s glory. Oilman Allan Mitchelson died for his principles. And convict Lenny Spaven died just to prove a point. ‘Bible John’ terrorized Glasgow in the sixties and seventies, murdering three women he met in a local ballroom – and he was never caught. Now a copycat is at work. Nicknamed ‘Bible Johnny’ by the media, he is a new menace with violent ambitions.

The Bible Johnny case would be perfect for Inspector John Rebus, but after a run-in with a crooked senior officer, he’s been shunted aside to one of Edinburgh’s toughest suburbs, where he investigates the murder of an off-duty oilman. His investigation takes him north to the oil rigs of Aberdeen, where he meets the Bible Johnny media circus head-on. Suddenly caught in the glare of the television cameras and in the middle of more than one investigation, Rebus must proceed with caution – one mistake could mean an unpleasant and not particularly speedy death, or, worse still, losing his job.

528 pages in Orion paperback edition

ISBN 978-0752883601

Ian Rankin

Scroll to Top